New Parliament Building inauguration ceremony in 10 points

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will inaugurate the new Parliament building on Sunday, May 28, 2023. Sources informed the news agency ANI that the inaugural ceremony is scheduled to take place in two phases. 

The rituals ahead of the inaugural ceremony will begin in the morning and are likely to be held in a pandal (canopy) near the Gandhi statue in Parliament. PM Modi, LS Speaker Om Birla, Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Hariwansh, and some senior ministers in the government are likely to be part of the ceremony.

How the new Parliament building will be inaugurated?

1) After the pujas, the dignitaries will examine the premises of the Lok Sabha’s chamber and the Rajya Sabha chamber in the new building. 

2) It is likely that the sacred ‘Sengol’ will be installed in the Lok Sabha chamber, right next to the Speaker’s chair, after performing some rituals, for which priests from Tamil Nadu, including the original jeweler who designed it, will be present.

3) The morning phase will end at close to 9:30 am after which the second leg of the ceremony is expected to begin at noon with the singing of the national anthem in the Lok Sabha chamber in the presence of all the dignitaries including PM Modi.

4) During the first phase, a speech will be delivered by the Deputy Rajya Sabha Chairman, Hariwansh, who will further read a written congratulatory message on behalf of Rajya Sabha, Chairman, Jagdeep Dhankar. A written message by President Droupadi Murmu will also be read out on the occasion.

5) In fact, two short audio-video films will also be showcased for the dignitaries present to talk about the process of construction of the new parliament, building, and its significance.

6) A slot has also been kept for the Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha to make his speech on the occasion. 

7) However, it is known that LoP Mallikarjun Kharge is unlikely to attend the ceremony on Sunday after the Congress party along with a host of opposition parties announced the boycott of the inauguration ceremony.

8) PM Modi will also be releasing a coin and stamp on the historic occasion and will also be making his speech on the occasion following which the Secretary-General Lok Sabha will deliver the Vote of Thanks to mark the closing of the ceremony, ANI reported. 

9) Several parties in the NDA including AIADMK, Apna Dal, the Republican Party of India, the Shinde faction of Shiv Sena, NPP, and NPF have confirmed their attendance for the function on Sunday.

10) The chief architect of the new parliament building, Bimal Patel and reputed industrialist Ratan Tata whose company TATA has constructed the new building have also been invited to the inauguration of the new building.


(With ANI inputs)

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.


Updated: 26 May 2023, 11:56 AM IST

Оцените статью